Come On Seven!

Updated: Oct 21, 2020

One of the most important aspects of our faith is belief in the Holy Trinity. God the Father, God the Son and God the Holy Spirit. The Holy Spirit is so important, that according to St. Thomas Aquinas, we cannot achieve salvation without Him. That's a pretty bold statement. But why are we so reliant on The Holy Spirit to achieve salvation? It's because The Holy Spirit provides us with the gifts we need to grow in holiness, thus making us fit for Heaven. Just as the Holy Spirit descended on the Apostles at Pentecost, The Holy Spirit descends on us at confirmation. On that day, the gifts of The holy Spirit are instilled in us, leaving us open to the promptings of God, which in turn will lead us to Heaven.

So, let's talk about the gifts of The Holy Spirit. There's seven of them and they're essential to the Christian way of life. They should be studied carefully and you should try to put them to use in your daily life. I'll list them and give a brief explanation in the spiritual sense.

#1- Wisdom: Knowledge and judgement about divine things and the ability to judge and direct according to divine truth.

#2- Understanding: The insight to see the heart of things, especially higher truths.

#3- Counsel: To be directed by God in things that are necessary to salvation.

#4- Fortitude: The strength of mind to do good and avoid evil, especially when it's difficult, and the confidence to overcome obstacles.

#5- Knowledge: Judging matters of faith correctly and taking the right actions.

#6- Piety: Reverence to God. Paying worship and duty to Him.

#7- Fear of God: In a filial context, to avoid hurting Him through sin because we love Him.

Again, these are very brief explanations of the seven gifts. But they're extremely important and deserve some of your time to learn, understand and put them to work in your life. The Holy Spirit does more than that though, He guides us, He inspires good thoughts in us, much like our guardian angels do. He truly is essential to our salvation.

In addition to the seven gifts, there's also the twelve fruits of The Holy Spirit. If you take the seven gifts, practice and put them into use in your life, they will inevitably produce the twelve fruits. They are:

love, joy, peace , patience, kindness, goodness, generosity, faithfulness, gentleness, modesty, self-control and chastity. Think about it, who is the embodiment of the seven gifts and the twelve fruits? Jesus of course. If we want to get to Heaven, we better take a really long look at these gifts and fruits, and see where we fall short of possessing them.

Here's the trifecta; take the Seven Gifts, the Twelve Fruits and combine them with the Eight Beatitudes, and you couldn't go anywhere but Heaven. All of these things have been sent by God. As I've said before, God knows how to make you what you need to be, let Him do His work. Accept these gifts from Him. He's doing everything possible to lead you to Heaven. He sent His Son, He sent His Holy Spirit, what else does He need to do to make us understand the road we must travel to spend our eternity with Him? Follow The Holy Spirit, He'll lead you down the right road. You won't need a GPS to find Heaven, just grab one of those wings and let Him do the flying.

Peace, good and blessings.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Who Is?